Posted by: pianofingers618 | January 8, 2010

APS Bans iPods and Phones during school hours

Just recently, APS has decided to make it so that phones and iPods are banned during school hours. The outcome of this new idea has not been decided yet. Okay, so truthfully, if this ban were to come in to play, it would not be worth the time and effort. Kids disobey the rule of “No phones during school hours on campus”. And even that rule is disregarded completely. Then the thing is with the ban is that there would be no iPods either! This is the part that really gets me, because at lunch, or when I get my teacher’s permission, I listen to my iPod. But if the ban is set in place, I won’t be able to do that any more! Boo hoo for me. But the “main purpose” of the ban is to stop cyber-bullying and sexting. Really, this is a really good reason.

Speaking of cyber-bullying, I went to an assembly for Patrick Halligan, whose son committed suicide after being cyber-bullied because he had a learning disability. You can go to http://www.ryanpatrickhalligan.org/ for more details.

So the ban would really have no impact at all on the students and whether they listen to their iPods and text during the school day. Actually, for some of the kids, it would just make them more compelled to go ahead and break the rules while the teachers turn their backs! (At least that’s how it is for my school.) I think that the teachers have given up on the eighth graders, because they’re leaving at the end of the semester. Yay! No more school! Haha, I am so happy. This school year went by so fast!

Oh, so guess what? Our school is getting a New parent drop-off road, (and if you don’t know this, our current parent drop-off road is way too small, and I swear that a kid gets almost run over three times every morning) a new track with a drainage system (which I am very happy about, because our school track now is the equivalent of a dirt road, and it gets especially muddy after it rains, and then it just sits there until the sun dries it out), and a new expansion to the band/ orchestra/ rock ‘n’ rhythm rooms (this one I am not so happy about, because one, it costs over two million dollars, and two, we don’t need an expansion to the band room! It’s big enough as it is!) So I bet you’re wondering: “Where are they going to get all this money?” Well, here comes the sticky part: we have to get our parents to vote for the Stimulus Package for all this money. And I’m pretty sure that there are some parents out there that don’t want to give out all that money for a new track. I mean, seriously? They call in complaining if their kids watched the Simpsons! (Well, I can’t complain, because I don’t like the Simpsons.)

Well, that’s all I have to say for now, so Adios!

Leave a Reply

Categories

