Posted by: pianofingers618 | December 21, 2009

Various Quotes

So I have listened to some pretty good music lately, and I have also been reading some books, and I have heard some pretty good excerpts from music and books and music:

…She was all bones. That was the first thing I thought. Bones and knobs, every bump of her spine protruding and visible. Her hips poked out at angles, her knees were skinny and pale. It seemed impossible that she could be so thin and still be alive, and even more that she’d been able to somehow hide this. As she shifted again, though, I saw it, the one thing that would stick with me forever: the sharpness of her shoulder blades as they rose out of her skin, looking like the wings of a dead baby bird I’d once found in our backyard, hairless and barely born, already broken.”

That was from Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. I actually did a review on it, and it is also posted here. I know that I mentioned this excerpt in the review, but I can’t tell you how much that really meant to me. I know that it has never actually happened to me, but I can just imagine it happening to me, because it is so real, and it happens all the time. It really scared me, but it also really intrigued me, so I have been listening to music and reading books, and finding things like that all around me. This is a song lyric from Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol:

Those three words are said too much. They’re not enough.

I don’t really know why I chose that one in particular, but I think that it’s really applied to everyone at my school. They say “I love you”, but it’s like they don’t know what it means, and they’re just saying it because it “makes you feel better”. Yeah, whatever. They only say it because it makes them feel grown up, and then they go and break up right after they had confessed their love of each other. I mean, seriously???? It is really immature to tell someone that, personally. Actually, I am scared of someone telling me that, because I know that I am not capable of relaly feeling that at my age, and if I don’t say it back, then they will be offended, and I will not be with them anymore.

Okay, so this is a whole song, but it really describes perfectly what I went through a couple of weeks ago between me and my crush, who already had a girlfriend but they told me that they like me, and I totally believed them. Then, they went and kissed their girlfriend right in front of me, after they had just looked me straight in the eye. Really? It seriously hurt my feelings, and they knew that. So the song that I had listened to for hours on end that described what I went through was Forever and Always by Taylor Swift:

Once upon a time, I believe it was a Tuesday
When I caught your eye
We caught onto something, I hold on to the night
You looked me in the eye and told me you loved me
Were you just kidding? ‘Cause it seems to me

This thing is breaking down, we almost never speak
I don’t feel welcome anymore
Baby, what happened? Please tell me
‘Cause one second it was perfect
Now you’re halfway out the door

And I stare at the phone; he still hasn’t called
And then you feel so low, you can’t feel nothin’ at all
And you flashback to when he said, forever and always
Oh, oh

And it rains in your bedroom, everything is wrong
It rains when you’re here and it rains when you’re gone
‘Cause I was there when you said forever and always

Was I out of line? Did I say something way too honest
Made you run and hide like a scared little boy?
I looked into your eyes, thought I knew you for a minute
Now I’m not so sure

So here’s to everything, coming down to nothing
Here’s to silence that cuts me to the core
Where is this going? Thought I knew for a minute
But I don’t anymore

And I stare at the phone; he still hasn’t called
And then you feel so low, you can’t feel nothin’ at all
And you flashback to when he said forever and always
Oh, oh

And it rains in your bedroom, everything is wrong
It rains when you’re here and it rains when you’re gone
‘Cause I was there when you said forever and always
You didn’t mean it, baby, I don’t think so
Oh, oh

Oh, back up, baby, back up, did you forget everything?
Back up, baby, back up, did you forget everything?

‘Cause it rains in your bedroom, everything is wrong
It rains when you’re here and it rains when you’re gone
‘Cause I was there when you said forever and always

And I stare at the phone he still hasn’t called
And then you feel so low, you can’t feel nothin’ at all
And you flashback to when we said forever and always!

And it rains in your bedroom, everything is wrong
It rains when you’re here and it rains when you’re gone
‘Cause I was there when you said forever and always
You didn’t mean it, baby, you said forever and always,
Yeah

And then there is another song called According to You by Orianthi, which was exactly how I felt about the jerk who used to be my crush, and then about my new boyfriend.

According to you
I’m stupid,
I’m useless,
I can’t do anything right.
According to you
I’m difficult,
hard to please,
forever changing my mind.
I’m a mess in a dress,
can’t show up on time,
even if it would save my life.
According to you. According to you.

But according to him
I’m beautiful,
incredible,
he can’t get me out of his head.
According to him
I’m funny,
irresistible,
everything he ever wanted.
Everything is opposite,
I don’t feel like stopping it,
so baby tell me what I got to lose.
He’s into me for everything I’m not,
according to you.

According to you
I’m boring,
I’m moody,
you can’t take me any place.
According to you
I suck at telling jokes cause I always give it away.
I’m the girl with the worst attention span;
you’re the boy who puts up with it.
According to you. According to you.

But according to him
I’m beautiful,
incredible,
he can’t get me out of his head.
According to him
I’m funny,
irresistible,
everything he ever wanted.
Everything is opposite,
I don’t feel like stopping it,
so baby tell me what I got to lose.
He’s into me for everything I’m not,
according to you.

I need to feel appreciated,
like I’m not hated. oh– no–.
Why can’t you see me through his eyes?
It’s too bad you’re making me dizz-ay.

According to me
you’re stupid,
you’re useless,
you can’t do anything right.
But according to him
I’m beautiful,
incredible,
he can’t get me out of his head.
According to him
I’m funny,
irresistible,
everything he ever wanted.
Everything is opposite,
I don’t feel like stopping it,
baby tell me what I got to lose.
He’s into me for everything I’m not,
according to you. According to you
.”

That song was really important to me, because it was exactly how I felt about the two of them.

Okay, so if I think up of any more quotes, or if I have anything else to say, I will post them as soon as possible! Bye!

Leave a Reply

Categories

